Skip to main content

Schloss Prize for Excellence in Economics

Mr. Lawrence M. v. D. Schloss, 1976 graduate from Tulane University and member of the Board of Tulane, has endowed the Lawrence M. v. D. Schloss Prize for Excellence in Economics. “The Schloss Prize is to be offered to outstanding full professors, associate professors, or assistant professors, or graduate or undergraduate students, who do outstanding work in the Department of Economics.”

Mr. Schloss has had a distinguished career in the financial services industry. Following his 1976 graduation from Tulane, he earned an MBA from The Wharton School of The University of Pennsylvania in 1978. He then joined Donaldson, Lufkin & Jenrette (DLJ) in 1978 as an investment banker, and during his 22 years at DLJ rose to become Chairman of DLJ’s Merchant Banking Division. Upon the acquisition of DLJ by Credit Suisse in 2000, he became the Global Head of CSFB Private Equity. In 2010 he was appointed New York City's Deputy Comptroller for Pensions and the Chief Investment Officer and Trustee of the New York City pension funds, whose assets grew from $100 billion to $145 billion under his leadership. He was named 2012 CIO of The Year – Large Public Pension Funds by Institutional Investor.

The 2020-2021 recipient of the Lawrence M. v. D. Schloss Prize for Excellence in Economics is Stefano Barbieri. He will receive a cash award of $5000.

Stefano Barbieri received his Ph.D. in economics from the University of Pennsylvania in 2004. Before moving to the United States from Italy, Dr. Barbieri received his B.S. in economics from Bocconi University in Milan in 1998.

Stefano has done so much for the department--and so consistently--that it's easy to take it for granted. He is always one of our best instructors. In addition to his very high numeric ratings, his students make comments like this: "Dr. Barbieri is very good at giving intuitive descriptions of mathematical concepts. Frankly, his description of some Calculus topics are better than those I've witnessed from some math professors." Also, this: "Dr. Barbieri is a great asset to the Tulane economics department. I'm grateful to have had him as an instructor for as many courses as I have."

Stefano also had a stellar year with four publications in:

  • Journal of Public Economic Theory
  • Journal of Mathematical Economics
  • RAND Journal of Economics
  • Journal of Law and Economics

He did all of this while serving as associate editor at two journals (Economic Inquiry and Journal of Public Economic Theory) and while being actively and productively engaged in the life of the department--in seminars, teaching math and theory to our PhD students, writing and grading prelims, and always offering to serve on committees. 

More details on Stefano’s activities can be found on his Department of Economics website, at

The Department of Economics selection committee was unanimous in recommending that Stefano be the 2020-2021 recipient of the Lawrence M. v. D. Schloss Prize for Excellence in Economics.

The Department of Economics is very grateful to Mr. Schloss for his generous and ongoing support, which has made possible the recognition of Stefano’s accomplishments. Previous Schloss Prize winners are Marco Castaneda (2009), Jay Shimshack (2010), Stefano Barbieri (2011), Keith Finlay and Douglas Nelson (2012), Alan Barreca and Jon Pritchett (2013), Doug Harris (2014), Sean Higgins (2014), James Alm (2015), Nora Lustig (2016), Jon Pritchett (2017), Patrick Button and Ali Enami (2018), Wei Long (2019), and Antonio Bojanic, LaPorchia Collins and Toni Weiss (2020).