Skip to main content

Tulane's School of Liberal Arts is committed to excellence in teaching and learning. We have moved to online teaching and are monitoring developments related to the coronavirus (COVID-19). For more information, click here.

Students: There is still Summer 2020 online course availability. Get a head start on your requirements with offerings including creative industries through crisis, film and media, festivals, tourism, the hospitality industry, and disease throughout history, across literature, media, cultural expression, religion, and more. View all Liberal Arts Summer Courses.

Creative Writing Fund

In 2007, the Department of English received an extremely generous gift from anonymous donors to set up a Creative Writing Fund for a period of six years. The gift allows the department to enhance its course offerings in Creative Writing, to bring an internationally renowned writer to read at the Great Writers series, to bring other distinguished writers for readings and workshops with students, to create greater opportunities for student programming and publishing in creative writing, to integrate creative writing with the study of literature, and to use creative writing as a focal point for community outreach and service learning.

The Creative Writing Fund has made possible guest appearances by:

  • 2014 Chris Tilghman
  • 2014 Brenda Marie Osbey
  • 2013 A.S. Byatt
  • 2012 Geoff Dyer
  • 2012 Jonathan Franzen
  • 2011 Naomi Shihab Nye
  • 2011 Sherman Alexie
  • 2011 Robert Hass
  • 2010 James Salter
  • 2010 Michael Ondaatje
  • 2010 Carlos Fuentes
  • 2010 Rita Dove
  • 2010 Edmund White
  • 2009 Philip Lopate
  • 2009 Deborah Eisenberg
  • 2009 Billy Collins
  • 2009 Joan Didion
  • 2008 Louise Gluck
  • 2008 Sir Salman Rushdie
  • 2007 Toni Morrison