Developed as part of Tulane University’s Renewal Plan following Hurricane Katrina in 2005, The School of Liberal Arts encompasses the fine arts, humanities, and social sciences through 16 departments and 19 interdisciplinary programs as well as the Carroll Gallery, Shakespeare Festival, Summer Lyric Theatre, and the Middle American Research Institute. The School of Liberal Arts is the largest of Tulane's nine schools with the greatest number of enrolled students, faculty members, majors, minors, and graduate programs. SLA departments and programs are currently housed in Newcomb Hall, the Woldenberg Art Center, Dixon Hall, and McWilliams Hall located on the Newcomb Quad as well as Dinwiddie, Tilton, Hebert, Jones, and Norman Mayer Halls located on the Academic Quad.

For more information, see facts and figures about Tulane University.