Skip to main content


The faculty of the Department of History are internationally recognized scholars and teachers.  They are committed to the highest caliber of research and publishing while maintaining the engagement with students and excellence in teaching for which Tulane University is justly renowned.

  • Department Chair

    Kris E. Lane
    Phone: 504-862-8622 Office: Hebert 209 Office Hours: By Appointment

  • Director of Undergraduate Study

    Brian DeMare
    Associate Professor (Ph.D., UCLA, 2007)
    Phone: 504-862-8607 Office: Hebert 326B Office Hours: By Appointment

  • Director of Graduate Study

    Guadalupe Garcia
    Associate Professor (Ph.D., UNC, Chapel Hill, 2006)
    Phone: 504-862-8539 Office: Hebert 109 Office Hours: On Leave

  • Executive Secretary

    Donna Denneen
    Phone: 504-865-5588
    Office: Hebert 125C Hours: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

  • Administrative Secretary

    Susan McCann
    Phone: 504-865-5162
    Office: Hebert 115 Hours: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM