Skip to main content


City Culture and Community PhD program news: 

Wesley Cheek has been selected by the The Social Science Research Council for a fellowship from the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science.  He will be a postdoctoral fellow at the Institute of Disaster Mitigation of Urban Cultural Heritage, Ritsumeikan University in Kyoto. 

Curtis Davis will start a tenure track job at University of Southern Mississippi.

Emily Starr will join the Sociology faculty at Loyola University, New Orleans. 

Jesse Chanin received a Spencer Dissertation Fellowship from the National Academy of Education. 

Arianna King received a Fulbright for her dissertation research in Ghana.

Announcements and Awards 

2012-2013 Academic Year

Patrick Rafail received the National Science Foundation funding ($258,172) for his project with John D. McCarthy titled, "Accounting for the Emergence, Persistence, and Media Coverage of Social Action Organizations." (2013-2015).

2011-2012 Academic Year

Michele Adams won the newly renamed April Brayfield Teaching Award. (SLA Awards 2012)

2010-2011 Academic Year

Stephen Ostertag was named this year’s recipient of the International Communication Association’s James W. Carey Urban Communication Award

2009-2010 Academic Year

New Multi/Interdisciplinary Ph.D. Program in City, Culture, and Community (CCC) has been approved! (For more information, click on the Graduate Program menu at the sidebar.)

Sociologists featured in SLA Newsletter
December 22, 2009 ("Graffiti Art"")

Sociologists featured in New Wave
December 18, 2009 ("Crafts Projects Help Kids")
December 16, 2009 ("We’re a School of Creativity’")

"Faculty Gender Equity" Acknowledgment from the Sociologists for the Women in Society (2009)

Kevin Gotham was awarded National Science Foundation Urban Long-term Research Area (ULTRA) Exploratory Award (with John McLachlan, the Center for Bio-Environmental Research)
- $300,000 grant will fund their research focusing on the impact of trauma on urban ecological and social diversity (Abstract)

2008-2009 Academic Year

April Brayfield (SGA Excellence in Teaching Award 2008-09)

Prior to 2005

April Brayfield (Presidents' Award for Excellence in Teaching 2004)