Fellowships, Prizes, and Awards

Fulbright Program

Information on the Fulbright program can be found on the Fulbright US Student Program website or by contacting the NTC Office of Fellowship Advising.

Fulbright-Hays--Group Projects Abroad Program


The American Historical Association


The Princeton Society of Fellows


The Center for Engaged Scholarship (CES)


John Carter Brown Library Residential Research Fellowships

The John Carter Brown Library is a center for advanced research in history and the humanities, established in 1846 and located at Brown University in Providence, Rhode Island since 1901. Its world-class collection on the early Americas includes rare books, manuscripts, maps, and supporting materials from the early decades of European print to the first half of the nineteenth century. The Library’s events, exhibitions, residential research fellowships, open-access policy, and digitization program make these resources available to researchers and communities around the world. The Library awards between 50-60 residential fellowships annually to scholars from the U.S. and abroad.

Sponsorship of research at the John Carter Brown Library is reserved exclusively for scholars whose work is centered on the study of the Americas prior to 1825, including all aspects of European, African, and Native American engagements in global and comparative contexts. Short-term fellowships are open to individuals who are engaged in pre- and post-doctoral or independent research. Graduate students must have passed their preliminary or general examinations at the time of application. Short-term fellowships are available for periods of two to four months and carry a stipend of $2,100 per month. Long-Term Fellowships are available for periods of five to ten months and carry a monthly stipend of $4,200. PhD candidates are welcome to apply for long-term fellowships only if all degree requirements, including the successful defense of their dissertation, have been met by the application deadline of December 1, 2018.

Applicants of all nationalities will be considered for fellowships. Applicants may submit proposals in English, French, Spanish, or Portuguese.To find more information or to apply, please visit the The John Carter Brown Library website. Please write to jcb-fellowships@brown.edu with questions.

Florida Atlantic University-Huntington Fellowship

The Florida Atlantic University Libraries and the Huntington Library are jointly offering three short-term research fellowships for advanced graduate students. Fellows will spend the month of October 2019 in residence using Florida Atlantic University Libraries’ Marvin and Sybil Weiner Spirit of America Collection in Boca Raton, Florida. They may take the second month of the fellowship at the Huntington Library at any time between July 1, 2019 and June 30, 2020. While at the Florida Atlantic University Libraries, fellows will meet together weekly along with FAU faculty and participate in academic programming. Fellows will be encouraged to submit a conference panel based on the materials they find in the collections and their discussions during the fellowship period. Accepted fellows will receive $2,500 for one month at the Florida Atlantic University Libraries in Boca Raton using the materials from the Weiner Collection, and $3,500 for one month at The Huntington in San Marino, California. All successful candidates are expected to be in residence for the period of their fellowships at each institution.

Open to doctoral candidates in fields related to the collections (including but not limited to History, English, Political Philosophy, American Studies, etc.) who have completed their qualifying exams and received approval for their dissertation proposal from their department.

Application Procedure
Candidates must submit the following to be considered:

  • CV

  • Two letters of recommendation from faculty members familiar with your project

  • Project proposal of no more than 1,500 words including a description of the project, an indication of the significance of the dissertation to the field of study, and an indication of the materials they plan to consult at each library and their plan of work during the fellowship period. Successful candidates will be specific about these materials. The fellowship committee seeks students who will benefit from the complementary holdings of the Weiner Collection and the Huntington Library, which are particularly strong in Anglo-American political philosophy, the American and French revolutions, the English Civil War, and religion and reform movements. Further information on holdings can be found here: http://www.fau.edu/artsandletters/history/weiner-researchers-guide/ and http://www.huntington.org/research/. Applicants are encouraged to contact the librarians at each institution with any questions about holdings.

Application materials should be sent to afinucane@fau.edu by November 15, 2018. Any questions about the fellowship or the application process may be directed to this address as well.

The Department of History offers two main awards each year.

The Peter T. Cominos Memorial Award

Given by the History Department annually for the best graduate paper of publishable quality. The paper will be selected by a three-person committee consisting representatives from three different geographic subfields. The paper should demonstrate the highest professional standards of research, writing and analysis. Students interested in submitting a paper for the Award should provide four printed copies of the work to the Director of Graduate Studies. Due Date: March 1. Entries are limited to work produced in the previous calendar year. The award is announced at the end of the academic year.

The William R. Hogan Fellowship Award

Awarded annually by the History Department to a graduate teaching instructor in the History Department who has demonstrated particular excellence in teaching in the previous calendar year. The Graduate Studies Committee of the Department selects the candidate based upon mandatory student evaluations and written faculty evaluations. The award is announced at the end of the academic year.