Skip to main content

People

Allison Truitt
Director of Asian Studies
Associate Professor, Anthropology
Research Interests: Socio-cultural anthropology, Vietnam, Southeast Asia, consumption and globalization, economic transformations
E-mail: atruitt@tulane.edu

Kumiko Akama
Instructor, Asian Studies
Research Interests: Japanese language
E-mail: kakama@tulane.edu

Mohan Ambikaipaker
Assistant Professor, Department of Communication
Research Interests: Cultural Studies, Critical Race Theory, Postcoloniality, Malaysia, Asian Diasporas
E-mail: mambikai@tulane.edu

Carl Bankston
Professor, Sociology
Research Interests: Immigration, race/ethnicity, education, Asian-American studies
E-mail: cbankst@tulane.edu

Guy L. Beck
Adjunct Professor, Asian Studies & Professional Advancement
Research Interests: Religions of Asia, Asian music, Hinduism
E-mail: beckg@tulane.edu

Kathleen E. Carlin
Adjunct Professor, Asian Studies and Professional Advancement
Research Interests: Cultural anthropology, Vietnam, life history
E-mail: kcarlin@tulane.edu

Kathleen E. Davis
Associate Professor, Spanish & Portuguese
Research Interests: Traditional Chinese literature, China in Spanish Literature
E-mail: kedavis@tulane.edu

Brian DeMare
Associate Professor, History
Research Interests: Rural political culture during the Chinese revolution, propaganda, local arts & artists, power relations at the village level in China
E-mail: bdemare@tulane.edu

Martin K. Dimitrov
Associate Professor, Political Science
Research Interests: Chinese politics, regime resilience, property rights, legal reform
Email: mdimitro@tulane.edu

Mai Do
Assistant Professor, International Health and Development
Research Interests: Access and quality of care, gender, Vietnamese
E-mail: mdo@tulane.edu

Masako Dorrill
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Asian Studies
Research Interests: Japanese language
E-mail: mdorrill@tulane.edu

Hans W. Gruenig
Adjunct Professor, Philosophy and Asian Studies
Research interests: Buddhism, Asian and comparative philosophy, continental philosophy, human flourishing
Email: gruenig@tulane.edu

Noriko Krenn
Instructor, Asian Studies
Research interests: Japanese language
Email: nkrenn@tulane.edu

Richard A. Marksbury
Associate Professor, Dean emeritus
Research Interests: South Asia, South Pacific, marriage, land tenure, caste systems
205 Caroline Richardson
E-mail: rmarksby@tulane.edu

Nancy Maveety
Professor, Political Science
Research Interests: Judicial process, comparative constitutional law and rights
E-mail: nance@tulane.edu

Lily Pitt
Instructor, Asian Studies
Research Interests: Chinese language
E-mail: lpitt@tulane.edu

Xiuli Qi
Instructor, Asian Studies
Research Interests: Teaching Chinese as a foreign language
E-mail: xqi@tulane.edu

Mark Vanlandingham
Professor, International Health and Development
Research Interests: Migration and health, disasters and health, immigrant health, Southeast Asia, HIV/AIDS
E-mail: mvanlan@tulane.edu

Nina Wen
Instructor, Asian Studies and Professional Advancement
Research Interests: Chinese language
E-mail: nwen@tulane.edu

Saeko Yatsuka-Jensen
Japanese language coordinator and Instructor, Asian Studies and Professional Advancement
Research Interests: Japanese language
E-mail: syatsuka@tulane.edu

Liyi Yeh
Instructor, Asian Studies
Research interests: Teaching Chinese as a foreign language
E-mail: lyeh@tulane.edu

Lin Zhu
朱琳
Chinese Language Director and Professor of Practice, Asian Studies
Research Interests: second language Chinese writing, computer-assisted language learning, language testing, collaborative learning
E-mail: lzhu4@tulane.edu