Skip to main content
Close

COVID-19 Response & Resources

Students: There is still Summer 2020 online course availability. Get a head start on your requirements with offerings including creative industries through crisis, film and media, festivals, tourism, the hospitality industry, and disease throughout history, across literature, media, cultural expression, religion, and more. View all Liberal Arts Summer Courses.

People

Richard A. Marksbury
Director of Asian Studies
Associate Professor, Dean emeritus
Research Interests: South Asia, South Pacific, marriage, land tenure, caste systems
116A Newcomb Hall
E-mail: rmarksby@tulane.edu

Kumiko Akama
Instructor, Asian Studies
Research Interests: Japanese language
E-mail: kakama@tulane.edu

Mohan Ambikaipaker
Assistant Professor, Department of Communication
Research Interests: Cultural Studies, Critical Race Theory, Postcoloniality, Malaysia, Asian Diasporas
E-mail: mambikai@tulane.edu

Carl Bankston
Professor, Sociology
Research Interests: Immigration, race/ethnicity, education, Asian-American studies
E-mail: cbankst@tulane.edu

Guy L. Beck
Adjunct Professor, Asian Studies & Professional Advancement
Research Interests: Religions of Asia, Asian music, Hinduism
E-mail: beckg@tulane.edu

Kathleen E. Carlin
Adjunct Professor, Asian Studies and Professional Advancement
Research Interests: Cultural anthropology, Vietnam, life history
E-mail: kcarlin@tulane.edu

Kathleen E. Davis
Associate Professor, Spanish & Portuguese
Research Interests: Traditional Chinese literature, China in Spanish Literature
E-mail: kedavis@tulane.edu

Brian DeMare
Associate Professor, History
Research Interests: Rural political culture during the Chinese revolution, propaganda, local arts & artists, power relations at the village level in China
E-mail: bdemare@tulane.edu

Martin K. Dimitrov
Associate Professor, Political Science
Research Interests: Chinese politics, regime resilience, property rights, legal reform
Email: mdimitro@tulane.edu

Mai Do
Assistant Professor, International Health and Development
Research Interests: Access and quality of care, gender, Vietnamese
E-mail: mdo@tulane.edu

Masako Dorrill
Adjunct Assistant Professor, Asian Studies
Research Interests: Japanese language
E-mail: mdorrill@tulane.edu

Hans W. Gruenig
Adjunct Professor, Philosophy and Asian Studies
Research interests: Buddhism, Asian and comparative philosophy, continental philosophy, human flourishing
Email: gruenig@tulane.edu

Noriko Krenn
Instructor, Asian Studies
Research interests: Japanese language
Email: nkrenn@tulane.edu

Nancy Maveety
Professor, Political Science
Research Interests: Judicial process, comparative constitutional law and rights
E-mail: nance@tulane.edu

Lily Pitt
Instructor, Asian Studies
Research Interests: Chinese language
E-mail: lpitt@tulane.edu

Xiuli Qi
Instructor, Asian Studies
Research Interests: Teaching Chinese as a foreign language
E-mail: xqi@tulane.edu

Allison Truitt
Associate Professor, Anthropology
Research Interests: Socio-cultural anthropology, Vietnam, Southeast Asia, consumption and globalization, economic transformations
E-mail: atruitt@tulane.edu

Mark Vanlandingham
Professor, International Health and Development
Research Interests: Migration and health, disasters and health, immigrant health, Southeast Asia, HIV/AIDS
E-mail: mvanlan@tulane.edu

Nina Wen
Instructor, Asian Studies and Professional Advancement
Research Interests: Chinese language
E-mail: nwen@tulane.edu

Huimin Xie
Chinese language coordinator
Professor of Practice, Asian Studies
Research Interests: Sociolinguistics, Chinese linguistics
E-mail: hcxie@tulane.edu

Saeko Yatsuka-Jensen
Japanese language coordinator and Instructor, Asian Studies and Professional Advancement
Research Interests: Japanese language
E-mail: syatsuka@tulane.edu

Liyi Yeh
Instructor, Asian Studies
Research interests: Teaching Chinese as a foreign language
E-mail: lyeh@tulane.edu