Skip to main content
Newcomb Art Department


The Newcomb Art Department is devoted to the study and production of visual art within the context of Tulane University's strong tradition in the liberal arts. It fosters an environment of independent and collective exploration that promotes original thought, creative inquiry, and visual literacy. 

The studio art program develops students’ skills of rendering and fabrication as well as perception, composition and execution. Exposure to historical and contemporary art, vigorous analysis and comparative examination provide substantial grounding of practice in theory.

The art history program educates students in the visual and historical analysis of art from antiquity to the present. Its faculty exposes students to an array of methodological approaches to interpret art across different regions and periods, fostering rigorous thinking and effective verbal expression.

The department enriches the university and community, serving as an advocate for the visual arts by presenting exhibitions, lectures, and other programs. The department contributes to the creation and analysis of visual art by supporting original scholarship and creativity among its faculty on regional, national, and international levels.

Newcomb Art News
Tuesday, July 24, 2018 - 12:05
Through the Valley, an exhibition of recent sculpture by internationally-known glass sculptor Gene Koss will be on view at Arthur Roger Gallery, located at 432 Julia Street, from August 4–September 22, 2018. 

The gallery will host an opening reception with the artist in attendance, Saturday, August 4 from 6 to 9 pm in conjunction with the Hancock Whitney White Linen Night
Tuesday, May 22, 2018 - 11:27
The Lavin-Bernick Grant for faculty research has sponsored a collaboration between the Tulane School of Architecture and the Newcomb Art department, supporting an interdisciplinary course that examines the spatial behavior of color. Associate Professor Tiffany Lin (architect) and Assistant Professor Aaron Collier (painter) have co-authored a paper to describe this curriculum entitled, Tactile Focus: The Reciprocality of Painting and Architecture.  

This manuscript was presented at the 2018 National Conference for the Beginning Design Student (NCBDS) in Cincinnati and will be published in forthcoming conference proceedings. Lin and Collier have also been invited to show their work at the University of Massachusetts Amherst in February 2019. The Lavin-Bernick grant will support the creation and transportation of paintings to this exhibition, as well as fund travel and accommodation costs related to the opening.

Tuesday, May 15, 2018 - 10:32
Newcomb Art Department | Tulane University
Bachelor of Arts Exhibition 2018
closing reception:  Friday, May 18, noon – 2 pm

Amelia Blackburn
Jacqueline Cooke
Brianna Douglass
Gali Du
Janey Hollis
Lucia Hughes
Kristian Murina
Sarah Schacht
Farah Serur
Noa Sklar
Madison Steiner
Casey Vinder
Andrew Winston
Yu Zou
Wednesday, May 9, 2018 - 12:25
Professor Michelle Foa has been awarded a Samuel H. Kress Senior Fellowship at the Center for Advanced Study in the Visual Arts (CASVA) at the National Gallery of Art for the 2018-2019 academic year.  There, she will research the National Gallery’s rich Degas collection and work on her book manuscript, The Matter of Degas: Art and Materiality in Later 19th-Century Paris. 
Tuesday, May 8, 2018 - 13:59
by Sarah Ahmed, Tulane New Wave
Tulane University students enrolled in an introductory art history course have released a report providing background information on cultural artifacts in danger of illicit trafficking and destruction in the ongoing war in Yemen.
The 13 undergraduate student authors are taking Art Survey I: Prehistory Through the Middle Ages, taught by Lily Filson, an adjunct professor of art history in the School of Liberal Arts. The students completed the report in response to an emergency “Red List” published by the International Council of Museums (ICOM), which outlined a number of Yemeni cultural artifacts in danger of illicit trafficking during the ongoing Yemeni civil war. 
The students’ report, “Tulane Art History Students Take on ICOM’s ‘Emergency Red List of Cultural Objects at Risk, Yemen,’” provides a detailed contextual analysis and description of each individual artifact in an effort to showcase the cultural and historical value of each piece. The listed artifacts include items from stone statues to bronze busts and ancient incense burners.
“So much damage is being done to a history that we are only beginning to study,” said Filson. “Studying these artifacts is just as important as studying the traditional art history we look at in textbooks about ancient Mesopotamia, ancient Egypt and ancient Greece. It’s our shared human heritage. 
“Tulane students are the only ones in the country in a basic art history survey class that are interacting with urgent issues in the field and writing their own original content,” Filson added. “I hope they take away an expanded view of ancient art history and particularly an awareness of a vast and ancient art tradition that is not really taught in American universities.”
Read the students’ report here.
Tuesday, April 24, 2018 - 09:04
Newcomb Art Department | Tulane University

2018 Student Art Awards Night

+ Bachelor of Fine Arts Opening Reception

Thursday, April 26, 2018

Award Ceremony: Stone Auditorium, 6:00 pm

Stern Prize Paper – Art History Awards – Studio Art Awards

followed by BFA, Part 2, Opening Reception in the Carroll Gallery, 6:30 pm

Caroline Chase, Rubi Ferras, Megan Wolfkill