Skip to main content

MFA Glass

Applications for Fall 2020 admission to the MFA Program in the Tulane University Glass Program are being accepted. Students interested in glass as a sculptural medium are encouraged to apply. Admitted students for the two year program receive a financial aid package that consists of a full tuition waiver and an assistantship stipend. The application deadline is February 1, 2020.

Tulane offers an MFA degree in a small, intensive, interdisciplinary, two-year residency program that emphasizes close interaction with dedicated faculty and peers, and engagement with New Orleans’ unique cultural landscape. The graduate curriculum is focused on individual studio practice while also engaging students in cross-disciplinary seminars on art theory, pedagogy, and practice-based research as well as courses in the history of art. All admitted graduate students receive a full tuition waiver and a generous assistantship stipend. Teaching and teaching-assistantship opportunities are available to all admitted students each semester.

Located in New Orleans, a vibrant and culturally rich city in the Gulf South, the Newcomb Art Department draws from a diverse and exciting range of artistic and cultural production. Local resources include Prospect New Orleans, an international art Biennial, the newly established Joan Mitchell Center, The Contemporary Arts Center of New Orleans, The New Orleans Museum of Art, The Ogden Museum of Southern Art, and Pelican Bomb, a leading arts criticism organization.

It is the goal of the Tulane Glass graduate program to enable students to develop their work to its highest potential while providing them a solid foundation for teaching and the ability to run their own professional studios. All graduate students are encouraged to experiment with materials and push their ideas while creating a coherent body of work for their thesis exhibition which is given at the end of the two year program.

Applying to the Graduate Program


All admitted students receive a financial aid package that consists of a full tuition waiver and an assistantship stipend that is issued as a monthly paycheck. Further information and applications may be obtained from the SLA Graduate Studies website.

Admission Requirements

Application materials include:

  • Portfolio and corresponding Inventory List
  • Statement of Purpose (1-2 pages addressing influences, interests, current work direction, brief bio as it relates to art practice, and reasons for applying to graduate school at this time)
  • Letters of Recommendation (3)
  • Unofficial academic transcripts of all undergraduate and/or graduate study (Official transcripts are required upon admission to the program)
  • CV/Resume optional

*Please note that the GRE is not required of MFA applicants in studio art.

Digital Images

  1. You may submit a maximum of 20 images.
  2. Images should be of recent pieces and indicate your primary interest and direction.
  3. Still images must be in JPEG format, maximum dimensions of 2000 pixels on the longest side at 72 dpi. File sizes should be no larger than 2MB.
  4. Each file must be named as applicant’s Lastname_Firstname_##.jpg. Example: Doe_John 01.jpg
  5. Applicants must also include an Inventory List of the images. Include your name at the top of this page, and list the Title, Date, Medium and Dimensions for each image (corresponding to each jpeg number).

Time-Based Work

  1. Please limit your time-based work samples to no more than ten minutes.
  2. If your time-based files are smaller than 20MB each, they can be uploaded through the application system.
  3. Time-based files larger than 20MB should be uploaded on your website, Vimeo or Youtube. These files should be listed on the Inventory List with appropriate URL’s to their online location.

Recent Visiting Artists

Tulane MFA Glass Alumni

Mark Rosenbaum 1983
Cynthia Rasche 1985
Robin Brown 1987
Michael Magyar 1987
Paul Lucas 1989
Mitchell Gaudet 1990
Michelle Muennig 1991
Deborah Czeresko 1992
Patrick Martin 1993
Christian Stock 1994
Neil Harshfield 1995
Rob Jenkins 1995
L. Brady Steward 1996
Erica Hauben 1997
Joshua Werner 1999
Gillian Puryear 2000
Greg Geniusz 2001
Andrew Katz 2003
Laurel Porcari 2003
Althea Holden 2004
Christopher Fiertner 2005
Stephen Durow 2006
Megan Hillerud 2007
Marc-Antony Polizzi 2008
Molly Anderson 2010
Michelle Knox 2011
Keith Cerone 2012
Weston Lambert 2012
Gregory Price 2012
Dan Alley 2014
Jeffrey Stenbom 2015
Devon Murphy 2016
Christopher Gray 2017
Johnny Glass 2019